First Excerpt, From the First Half of My Story.


Hey,

     So I thought I might add an excerpt from Amethyst Part 1.  The basic story at this point is that Amy’s BFF Leslie has been attacked by a nacita and has been sent to the hospital.  This part of the story is one of my favorites because this is where Any and Henri meet, and Amy….well, you’ll see what happens.  I don’t want to ruin the surprise, so sink your teeth in.

     A few days went by with Leslie slowly recovering in the hospital she was finally getting some color back but still hadn’t opened her eyes although that didn’t stop her from crying out in her sleep.

     Derek didn’t leave her bedside until I told him that I’d gotten a boat to go out onto the lake to see if we could catch the nacita that attacked her.

     The next day we set out on the lake. Derek wasn’t going to let me help

     “I want to help! I want to do something! She’s my Best Friend Derek!” I yelled at him.

      He replied coolly, “Fine; you can hold the bait in the water if you like, just yell if anything bites.”  With that he handed me the bait and I put my hand in the water.

     After a while my hand started to go numb with cold from the water and all of a sudden my hand hurt, the water stung, my head spun, and I was nearly drug under water by something that surfaced when I pulled my hand out of the water.

     I was looking at a boy with long hair and the most amazingly blue eyes I’ve ever seen, he looked to be about my age. But what surprised me the most was that he had the bait in his mouth.

     I didn’t yell for Derek but stared at the boy, who didn’t take his eyes off of me.

     He swam up to the side of the boat, took my hand and wiped away the blood. Then he smiled and looked up at me and said something that I didn’t quite understand. Like it was in a different language that I had started to learn and had half forgotten.

    “What did you say?” I asked him.

     He repeated it I still didn’t understand and told him so.  He raised his hand, covered my eyes with it and said, “Can you understand me?” he sounded anxious and excited.

     I nodded as he uncovered my eyes and I said, “Of course I can understand you now that you’re speaking English.”

      But I wasn’t.  The words that came out of my mouth were strange and unfamiliar to me but I still knew what they meant and I didn’t know how.

     The boy broke into the biggest smile I’d ever seen.  I stared at him, slightly scared, and very puzzled.

     He looked at my hand, then at me and then shrugged; I looked at my hand as well, it was bleeding again. I wiped away the blood and saw that my hand looked like it had been bitten by a dog, a dog with very sharp teeth and a strangely human like muzzle.

     I now understood. The boy was a nacita and he had bitten me. “Who are you?”….

Hope you liked it =)

Meredith

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

